I’M TIRED

by barkerwoofer

I’m just going to launch into a rant about being exhausted.

I was up probably around 7 on Wednesday, stayed up all night to finish my art homework, took a little nap, and now it’s Friday morning around 3am.. and I’m staying up tonight too.

See during my little 4 hour nap yesterday I overslept and missed an important class and I have another class this morning at 8am that I’m afraid I’ll miss if I sleep again. So friday normal classes + work means I’ll probably get to sleep sometime around 10pm tonight.. I’m just autistic enough to work out that that’s about 60 hours awake vs 4 hours of sleep. Horrible and moronic, and if I had just not put off my art homework I wouldn’t be in this situation. I’m so bored right now.. it’s almost 4am and I don’t know what to do. I’m not too tired, but It’s going to suck around ten or eleven I bet.. maybe I’ll play my PS3..

Anyway, a few things since my last crappy update. I saw Hunger Games a few hours ago. Went with Clare, first showing in Cedar. Midnight. It was great, go see it. I really liked the design of the movie, if that’s the right word. District 12 (where the movie starts) has a real Great Depression look to it. The Capitol is much more futuristic and the people there have a sort of 80s look to them. Training before the games takes on real futuristic look also, like a toned down version of Tron in a way. It’s really interesting how much they change and how great everything looks. I like most movies I see in theaters, but this is really one of the better ones I’ve seen recently. See it.

And John Carter too, see that.

I started a second (?) blog on blogspot, mostly to test the software. It’s basically a menial review of my day. I aim to do it every day, but eh we’ll see. It might get wearing doing that every night. I DO like the interface there a lot more though. I’ll probably switch from WordPress to Blogspot entirely, and do this longer blog post there sometime in the future. If anyone reading this cares, probably not.

I started to play Draw Something too. I had it for about a week and didn’t like it, but almost everyone at work started to play it in the last day or two, and it’s really fun. I played it a lot while waiting for Hunger Games.

Uh yeah.

Like I said I was doing arts last night. I had to make an “alternate reality” in Photoshop from a bunch of images. I obviously procrastinated, and I didn’t even really follow the rules. Other kids in class were making shee like Alice and Wonderland, or else like floating castles..

My first idea was from a dream I had, where I was in a place I decided to call Limbo. As soon as I woke up after it, I ran to Evernote and wrote down what I could remember. It’s not really relevant, but this might be a short post otherwise, so here’s the full rundown:

I died in a car accident. I ended up in an empty stadium with a group of other dead-alive people, all of us waiting for something we couldn’t quite remember. I struck up a conversation with a lady who was excited because she had met two famous dead-alive people in the queue somewhere. Down below, I saw a friend on the lawn by the track. He called me down.
The rest of the people started to leave, and I followed them through the structure, down a flight of stairs and down a hallway. They made their way into the building. Instead of following, I took a side door outside. When I got to where my friend was, he was gone. I followed the path and found myself in a garden lined with dead mice bodies. I don’t remember feeling repulsed. I wondered what they were for. It was impossible to walk without stepping on one. A small dog resembling Russ came from around the garden and followed me, nipping at my heels playfully, stopping now and then to grab at a particularly big mouse.
The path lead me out of the garden and I noticed a large pile of human carcasses to my right. That’s all there was. Human chest pieces, blackened on the edges by what I would guess was decay. They looked like big chicken nuggets. Again, I wasn’t repulsed, nor did I throw up. I just wondered why they were there. Ahead, a similar pile stood ominously, this time guarded by a naked female. I awkwardly smiled at her and avoided her pile of dead bodies.
At this point, I realized something was wrong. All the sudden death, the fantastical shapes of the trees on the horizon, even the sun didn’t seem right. It was casting a different light. I looked down to beckon my dog forward, but he wasn’t there. I looked back and he was whining back near the first pile of bodies. I called for him but he refused to come. I guess the death was scaring him.
So I went on without him, walking along the path.
Ahead, separate piles of mangled bodies lay interwoven with no discernable end. I came to realize all of the first bodies I encountered were largely the same. Possibly the same person. These bodies were all different. Black and white, small and large, man and woman. Some were horribly disfigured, some were clean and pristine. Most were full bodies, some were not. I didn’t understand. I didn’t dare ask any of the people pulling at the bodies where I was and what was going on.
At some point, I remembered the accident. I was dead. Contrary to what you might think, I didn’t freak out, I didn’t throw up, and I certainly didn’t drop dead a second time. I was calm. It made sense. This must be heaven.. or some other place.
I figured someone would talk to me and explain eventually, so I kept walking. For a long time. The sun never went down, and I was sure it had been hours. I wasn’t tired at all. There were no towns, no cities or cars. Just piles of bodies of various sizes, and people tending to them. They all looked miserable. At some point, I realized the bodies were copies of the people tending them. It’s hard to explain. A very alive short man with long thick hair and a mustache who couldn’t be older than 30, for example, was sitting exhausted next to a pile of at least ten dead clones of himself. Some of his copies were newer, full, not yet disfigured by decay. The others were less intact and at least one was mostly skeleton. He avoided my gaze by staring somewhere near my ankles. He looked miserable and confused, and, strangely, familiar.
I couldn’t bring myself to talk to him, so I walked on. And on.
And on.
I didn’t get to see anyone else I recognized for a while, until I saw Ashley.
She had the biggest pile of bodies I’d seen so far. A truly disgusting pile of bodies towered far above her, twisting one day to defy gravity, making an overhanging that covered her. She looked up at me and glared into my eyes.
I walked on. I wasn’t going to ask what she was doing there. But if she was going to stand there in anger and confusion, I wasn’t. The next person I passed, an old lady, I opened my mouth.
“Excuse me,” I asked uncertainly. “Where am I?”
“Why,” she said with a jovial smile, “This is Limbo!”

Weird, right? Imagine me stuck sitting next to a bunch of dead versions of myself. It was creepy. Very similar to those mass piles of bodes you might see in a Halocaust book. My first plan for this assignment was to do that, take a bunch of pictures of myself and do like in the dream. Photoshop them into a pile, etc.

Anyway I procrastinated and Wednesday night I had to come up with something quick. It had to be done by Thursday, because I couldn’t print it Friday (class is at 8am, there’s just no time), and I had to have it done even earlier because I was going to be busy all evening.

So settled on a floating island. I wanted to incorporate some graphic design, so it wasn’t just Photoshop work. I thought that would be more fun and that it would go quicker. So I set up a sort of old timey stand and plastered a wall with posters. On the stand I put a little display for a floating mini planet. That’s how pressed for time I was, instead of taking the time to make a floating island (Think Avatar) I grabbed a planet off Google and shrunk it.

I’m reasonably pleased with it, I like the posters most. I just don’t think it fits the assignment at all.. I was supposed to take images and form a “new image”. Here, I produced my own digital artwork. The only real images were the table, bricks, and planet. I guess I’ll found out how in trouble I am in 4 hours. Oh, and the 2D girl this is a haermmesque inside joke, if you don’t know. I needed something to haermm at while I was making this. It’s not really related to the mini planet thing at all.

Image

I’ve been thinking a lot about moving back to St. George, and I’m sure it’s what I want to do. Hopefully I’ll be able to get there around May or June. I started to apply to Dixie State College. I just need to retake the ACT (ugh) because I took a residual ACT to get into SUU (which means the score I got was only good at SUU). So now I need to take one for Dixie State. I might just take the regular ACT (it’s the same test, by the way) so that when I reapply to SUU for the 2013-2014 school year I don’t end up needing another test.

Since I hit my goal of 21:59 in the 5k, I’ve been really lazy about running. I’ve had soda a few times, and had some unhealthy food.. bad, I know. I went running last night before I started my art project and my 5k time was right under 25 minutes.. regressed, but not as bad as I thought I would have. If I just get back into the habit again, I’ll probably get right back to where I was. My new goal is just 19:59. I think that’s decent.

Not much else to talk about. If you didn’t know, there’s some shee here that you might find interesting, my “2nd” blog or whatever.

Haermm.

